Skip to content

Scenes from Wednesday’s preview

January 28, 2011

Wednesday evening saw the previews of Edel Assanti = 1 and Voudou – Magic – Joujou at Edel Assanti Project Space.

During the preview, Celia White caught up with two of the exhibiting artists, Wendy Bevan and Noemie Goudal, to speak to them about their work on show in Edel Assanti = 1.

Wendy Bevan: My piece in this show is an image from a series I did for a magazine called Muse in 2008, it’s a series based on Victorian erotica, and this is one of my favourites, called Valentine (above).

This exhibition is a celebration of the first year for Edel Assanti Project Space – but how has the past year been for you as an artist?
With the gallery it’s still really early days, but Charlie and Jeremy have done so well. I’ve got some prints here at Edel Assanti and hopefully this year I’ll be doing a show.

Noemie Goudal: This piece is called Coulée (above), and it’s part of the series Les Amants; it’s a series I started in 2009 and it’s an ongoing project at the moment.

And how has the past year been for you?

It’s been crazy! A lot more has happened than I could ever expect, and I feel totally exhausted at the moment, I can’t even think any more. I first started working with Edel Assanti in June, so it’s only been seven months, but it feels like we’ve been working together much longer.

I understand that you and Stuart Bailes, who is also exhibiting here, are currently working on a project as part of a collective – can you tell me a bit about that?

We’re collaborating with Haus Silver; I can’t really tell you much about it at the moment as we’re still in the planning stages. There are seven artists involved and the project should be ready in Autumn 2011, so watch this space.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

